Virtual Yale

Peabody Museum Collections
September 14, 2021

As a transformative renovation project known as “Peabody Evolved” continues at the Yale Peabody Museum, the museum has introduced a new and improved museum website with access to digital collections, information about museum programming, and the latest research news, among other resources.

Explore the updated collection database here

Princess Moonlight and the Bamboo Cutter
September 14, 2021

This story, “Princess Moonlight and the Bamboo Cutter,” about a princess from the moon and her visit on earth, is based on a tale that traveled from China to Japan. The story is paired with a woodblock print by the Japanese artist Tsukioka Yoshitoshi, titled “Received Back into Moon Palace—Bamboo Cutter: #60 of One Hundred Aspects of the Moon” (1887), from the Yale University Art Gallery’s collection.

Listen to the story and admire the artwork here

Tailleferre: Piano Trio (1917)
September 14, 2021

GERMAINE TAILLEFERRE (1892 - 1983) Trio for Piano, Violin, and Cello (1917/1978)

i. Allegro animato

ii. Allegro vivace

iii. Moderato

iv. Très animé

Carter Johnson, piano Christine Wu, violin Mari Nagahara, cello

Norfolk Chamber Music Festival | 2021 Virtual Season

Watch the performance here

An introduction to the Humanities Quadrangle
September 7, 2021

The Humanities Quadrangle (HQ), the newly renovated building formerly known as the Hall of Graduate Studies, begins a new era for the humanities at Yale. 

“That Yale took one of its iconic buildings to rebuild the space in ways that encourage collaboration is a signal to the world that we are committed to this area of excellence,” says Tamar Gendler, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences.

See HQ as you’ve never seen it before and watch the video here

Brahms: String Quartet No. 2 in a minor, Op. 51, No. 2
September 7, 2021

JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833-1897) String Quartet No. 2 in a minor, Op. 51, No. 2 (33 minutes)

i. Allegro non troppo ii. Andante moderato iii. Quasi Minuetto, moderato iv. Finale: Allegro non assai

Masha Lakisova, violin

Gregory Lewis, violin

Weilan Li, viola

Mari Nagahara, cello

Enjoy the performance here